Today’s nails: a glittery sunset

20130714-194915.jpg

Today I finally found some inspiration again – this week, in case you were wondering, I was so busy with other things that I got my first nail art black out…the ideas weren’t coming at all! But luckily the slowly but surely improving summer here in Holland gave me a design to work out at long last.

I wanted a bit of a funky sunset to sponge on, and for that I chose 3 polishes: Sinful Colors ’24/7′, my go-to neon pink of the moment, ‘Crystal Clear’, some playful glitters, and Catrice ‘Ernie and Birdy’, a light yellow with a slight shimmer.

First I did just 1 coat of the yellow, but made sure it did cover fairly well. Then, I took a triangular make up sponge, cut it in half (so I can use the other half for a future design), grabbed some aluminum foil and a nail stick.
I added a blob of pink and a little yellow on the foil in such a way that it just touched. Then I pressed the sponge on it, and dabbed it carefully over each nail , moving left/right and slightly up/down until I got my desired ombre look.

After finishing each nail, I took the nail stick to quickly remove some of the excess polish directly around my cuticles and after that added one coat of the glitter. I cleaned up the rest of the mess after adding my quick drying top coat. Sponging is just so messy! But I do quite enjoy it. Summer’s now on my nails 🙂

5 thoughts on “Today’s nails: a glittery sunset

Leave a Reply

