Today’s nails: in the navy!

20130705-225033.jpg

Ahh…TGIF! I’m one of those lucky people who have Fridays off, and today I finally had some time to do something new to my nails: striping tape art πŸ™‚

Recently I got different colours of striping tape from the amazing Born Pretty Store (seriously the best online store for nail art props!), and I’d been trying to figure out how to use it in a design…and in comes the equally amazing Barry M!

When I was in Scotland a couple of weeks back, I went straight to the closest store carrying Barry M nail polish as I adore that brand! One of the shades I got was ‘Navy’. It’s exactly that, a rich, creamy shiny navy. One coat could do the trick, but I did two anyway to get a really swanky look.

Then the slightly tricky bit. In the Nail Dummy (and my personal) style, I like to keep things sleek and clean, so luckily I already decided to do a simple horizontal band using a swanky gold colour. Saves some time and frustration, as it’s quite a precise little project to get the tape on straight πŸ˜‰

Basically, roll off some tape and position it over the nail once the polish is really dry. No really dry, so paint them first, have a drink, have some dinner, and only then start taping, or you will regret it…
Once it’s on kind of straight, take your thinnest pair of nail scissors and cut off. Then, tuck in the tape down the sides of your nail and cut off any bits that are still too long. You want a very snug fit as otherwise you might accidentally peel off the tape!

After finishing each nail, I instantly painted on a coat of fast drying top coat, also to seal it in better.

All in all, it’s not complicated, and I love the result, nice and chic πŸ™‚

10 thoughts on “Today’s nails: in the navy!

  1. Agreed – very chic πŸ™‚ I’m In love with this mani, it’s perfect! Is the Navy a bit metallic? I’m not sure if it is or it’s just the super shine from the gloss. Either way it looks great, just curious πŸ™‚

  2. Great tape design! I always love these kind of mani’s, simple but so pretty. I am nominating you for the Sunshine Blogger Award to show my recognition and appreciation to your blog. It is not something you have to participate in but it is a fun way to share yours and others blogs. Here is a link to my post about the award and step to take to complete your post. http://nailstori.blogspot.co.uk/2014/06/sunshine-blogger-award-nomination.html πŸ™‚ xox

Leave a Reply

