Fuzzy polish, is it any good? Part 1

Fuzzy nails review

You can say it’s been months that I’ve been walking past these so-called fuzzy (Sally Hansen) or feathery (Nails Inc.) polishes, without ever buying them. Judging by the comments on one of my previous blog posts, I’m not the only one πŸ™‚

One of the things I got in the US last week was, at long last, one of the above mentioned options. Sally Hansen’s Fuzzy Coat and Nails Inc. Feathers swatches are pretty much identical, with Nails Inc. being the one who originally launched this kind of polish (correct me if I’m wrong, this is the order I saw them coming in Europe!).

I decided to first take home the Sally Hansen version, because of the price. My pick of the day, #100 ‘Wool Lite’.

First I tried it on by itself, which was a little bland and no way near fuzzy. So I then took a pale Β pink and did a coat of that, which instantly looked better.

One coat of the fuzz however wasn’t enough. I needed a second to actually get from just stripy to fuzzy. Only thing though…it just wouldn’t dry. At all. After over an hour, I still smudged and had to re-do 3 nails. After adding some quick-dry top coat I managed to tame things down.

The overall look once dry was OK. I could easily get out of the house wearing it, although it wasn’t the great new kind of nail art I’d gladly show off. That, in my world, means taking it off the next day. And so I did tonight. And it then became the difference between ‘yeah, OK’ and ‘hmm, no’ – it goes off horrible. Worse than normal glitter. Really wished I’d used my peel-off base coat for this, I spent over 20 minutes getting it off with strong acetone…

Oh well, at least I tried! I still like Sally Hansen for her basics, but this one won’t be replaced when it runs out. Instead, for part 2 I’ll be grabbing home some Nails Inc. Feathers to do a little product comparison. Watch this space!

22 thoughts on “Fuzzy polish, is it any good? Part 1

  1. Oh dear! It looks a bit like you’ve dipped your nails in candy floss! Think I’ll be avoiding this one after your review, but am thinking of picking up the Nails Inc feathers myself!

  2. Good to know! I hate polish that is difficult to get off…. Speaking of difficult polish any Deborah Lippman with glitter needs a file to get off, even with acetone 😦

      • It looks awesome when its on it really does, it stays on for a while too-but when it comes time to take it off its a hassle! Worth trying but not if your always changing your nails (like me) lol

  3. It looks like a terror to apply, and the finish look screams feather boa to me. Which, I don`t know about you, but that sort of says little kid playing dress up or washed out prostitute. Ish. I guess that`s exaggerating matters, but I think this is one nail trend I`m not a big fan of.

  4. That’s a shame about the removal. Is it just really dense bar glitter or something? And thanks for reviewing this! I had been curious about this polish forever!

  5. I should maybe not spoil it and wait to comment in part 2, but I have Nails Inc. Feathery and I love it! I won’t say anymore as I wouldn’t want to spoil it for you, so I look forward to finding out your opinion.

  6. I, like you, have been eying this nail polish for quite some time. But, I was very hesitant to try it, and after reading your thoughts and seeing the pictures I am probably going to stay away from. I am looking forward to seeing what you think of the Nails Inc. version. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

