Today’s nails: the black and gold gradient that wasn’t perfect, but actually works

Black and gold gradient nails

Oh hi there! Monday’s kind of the day I file down those nails and do my first design of the week. Over the weekend I was fancying something black again, and decided to make it a gradient with gold, classy and edgy at the same time.

First I started off with 2 coats of Claire’s Gel-like polish in black. This is the best-value black gel-like polish I know of, it goes on really shiny, so much so you’d hardly need any top coat for the shine. Not today though, it needs gold!

Once dry (about 30 minutes later), I took a make up sponge cut in half, some simple aluminium foil, a nail cuticle stick, the black polish I just used and some dark gold polish (I used a discontinued shade by Catrice). Bronze would actually also work fine, or a dark silver – anything not too bright, I prefer that over lighter options combined with black.

Steps for creating gradient nails

Add a little of both polishes on the aluminium foil, enough of each to cover a nail will do. Then take the nail stick and slightly blend the 2 colours in the middle so that it becomes like 1 large drop of polish. Take the make up sponge, press on the polish and then gently pat it on your nail, moving it up and down and slightly left to right to make sure you cover the whole nail. Your hands will definitely look like a battlefield once this step’s done!

Once you’re done, first paint on your top coat to finalize the gradient, and then clean up by using cotton buds dipped in acetone nail polish remover. I usually only do that for the worst affected areas, and then continue cleaning by using soapy water and a nail stick to carefully clean the edges right around the nail.

So the gradient didn’t work out as good as I wanted. I had visions of perfect ombre, but some days it works out better for me than others. That’s why I call myself the nail dummy! Usually I’d be mad at myself, remove everything and start over again and again until it’s right (I’m a Virgo, therefore a perfectionist, oh well ;-)), but I looked at the result, and actually enjoyed the more playful effect my non-perfect gradient gave my nails. The colours work so well together that it can’t seem to go wrong! Sometimes mistakes aren’t so bad after all πŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “Today’s nails: the black and gold gradient that wasn’t perfect, but actually works

  1. Those two colors look great together!

    I’ve been eyeing those Gel-like polishes for a while now. How much wear can you get out of that one before it starts chipping?

  2. I always love gradient manis πŸ™‚
    you have done it very well πŸ™‚
    This one seems like a great one.. i might copy this combination as well hope you don’t mind

    • Aww thank you! Please go ahead and try the design out too, that’s why we share it! I’d actually feel flattered if anyone would try something I posted πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

